Eternally Yours · Generation 3

Chapter 3.75

Moving in with Finn was a great idea.

We really are a cute couple.  We got ourselves settled in together in about three months.

And with Spring in full swing we decided to celebrate our new romance with a huge family barbecue.

bought salmon (with Finn’s steady job I don’t have to rely on my iffy horse competition income) and we invited over both our families.

My parents put everyone to shame with their insane love for each other.  I’m just glad the party kept them too busy to sneak away to get busy.  It wouldn’t have been the first time that’s happened at a party of mine.

While dinner was cooking, Finn and my mom challenged my dad and Finn’s sister to a Sim Gnubb match.

Then we all sat down to eat.  Well, not all of us.  Adam and Finn’s dad, Patrick, were busy keeping the nieces and nephews out of trouble.

Mom, Grandma Liddy, and Liv dragged me into the kitchen after dinner.  They demanded that I learn how to make lobster thermidor immediately.  I didn’t quite see why it was important but they insisted so I went along with it.

“Mr. Hanks?  I know this is going to seem out of left field since I’ve only known your daughter for less than a year but I love her.  I mean, I really love her.  Like she’s the one kinda love.  Do you know what I mean, Mr. Hanks?”

“Why, yes.  Yes, I believe I do know what you mean, son.  Are you asking to marry my daughter?”

“Yes, Mr. Hanks, sir.  I am asking for you permission to marry Penny.”

“Of course you can!  Just because I’m old doesn’t mean I’m out of it.  You may have only known Penny a few months but when you meet the one you just know.  And if you say she’s it then I’m going to believe you.  I’m also a little biased and think that my daughter is pretty great so if you didn’t marry her I’d have serious questions about your judgement.”

“OH THANK YOU!  Thanks so much, Mr. Hanks!  I’m going to propose tonight.  The women are in on it.  They knew I was going to chat you up and they’re keeping Penny busy.”

“Shh!  Shh!  Here they come.  Good luck, son!”

I came outside to find my dad and Finn giggling like school girls.  I’ve known my dad a long time but I still have this weird feeling that he’s not all there all of the time.  Could just be the former teenage Penny is still in me though.

“What are you boys getting into this time?!”

Instead of answering, Finn grabbed me and swung me down into a dip kiss.  It was about this time that I realized my entire family and Finn’s entire family were watching us.  I turned about 15 different shades of pink (which is a trick given the fact that I am purple).

“Finley…wha–what are you doing?”  I had a growing idea of what he was doing but refused to believe it until it happened.

“Penny, we’ve only known each other for a few short months but I’m so completely over the moon in love with you.  So, I thought tonight, with our families here, would be a good time to ask you a question…”  He started to get down on one knee and I was certain he was going to tie his shoe.

“Penelope Lynette Hanks…”

“Oh my God…Finley!  Seriously…what are you doing?!”

“Will you marry me?”

I made some high pitched noise that was indecipherable.

“So…is that a yes?”

“YES!  YES!  YES!  ONE THOUSAND TIMES YES!

I continued my high pitched squealing for several more minutes while I bounced around in a circle.

Finally I got it through my head that I should hug Finn or something.  So I did.

After several more minutes of bouncing and squawking, Adam came over to give me the biggest bear hug ever.

“You deserve this, sis.  He’ll be good to you and for you.  He’s a good man.”

And Adam is never wrong.

3 thoughts on “Chapter 3.75

  1. Hurray! Woot Woot! Popping the champagne!!!! It’s party time!! (did you get that I’m excited *smiles bashfully*)

Leave a comment